google-site-verification=12xGnQrhC75vBsoEcEW2do-cfEpOUS3iUu6d5IUQ5xA Vision & Perception Practice SG Vision Therapy Archive - Vision & Perception Practice SG Vision Therapy Archive - Vision & Perception Practice SG

挣扎的学习者

https://youtu.be/d-FvbUnxGKM

除了有学习障碍之外,以前从未在学校挣扎过但突然之间的孩子可能会出现功能性视力问题。 功能性视觉涉及儿童学习和发展以收集和处理视觉信息的技能。 这些对于执行诸如从白板复制、阅读线条和保持专注等任务是必需的。 如果出现问题并且孩子的眼睛不能正确聚焦,就会出现多米诺骨牌效应,从而影响注意力、阅读能力、注意力、成绩和行为。

拥有完美的视力和视力并不足以阅读,因为诊断阅读所需的技能更有帮助和重要。 构成功能性视觉的三个主要视觉技能领域是眼睛配合(眼睛应该协同工作以对齐并指向观察物体上的同一位置)、眼睛聚焦(让孩子在不同距离清楚地看到物体) 和眼球运动(能够控制眼球运动的方式和位置)。 处理这些问题通常会对减少有问题的行为和学习问题产生直接、积极的影响。

​在 Vision and Perception Practice,我们提供最新的设备和技能来评估儿童的眼动追踪是否符合规范、视觉感知技能、视觉信息处理技能等全面了解自己的学习能力。

自闭症

视觉问题在自闭症儿童中可能更为普遍

Studies 已经发现屈光不正,例如近视、远视和/或散光,在自闭症患者中可能更常见。 这些情况需要一副简单的眼镜来改善视力,其他一些情况,例如斜视(通常称为斜视或斜视)、弱视(懒惰眼)、收敛和调节(聚焦)问题将需要早期的神经验光干预以允许 让孩子尽早拥有良好的视力,让其他专业人士协助孩子的发展。

自闭症儿童的视觉技能可能较差,例如

  • 视觉注意力差
  • 无法用眼睛追踪事物(或“追踪”)。
  • 模糊近视
  • 缺少来自周边视觉的线索。
  • 由于视力不佳导致的双重视力
  • 眼睛有时会飘出来


此外,一些自闭症儿童存在视觉感官问题,这可能导致

  • 平衡不佳
  • 经常敲东西
  • 畏光(怕光)
  • 脚趾行走
  • 视觉输入较多的地方的视觉过载


学校的标准视力筛查不评估与学习相关的视觉技能,因为它们旨在检测常见的屈光不正,例如近视、远视和散光。 正确诊断和纠正视力问题并不是万灵药。 但是,作为 Dr. Temple Grandin (著名的自闭症倡导者)指出,一个能够清楚地看到他的世界的孩子更有可能从其他疗法中受益。

​在 Vision and Perception Practice,我们提供最新的设备和技能来评估儿童的眼动追踪是否符合规范、视觉感知技能、视觉信息处理技能等全面了解他们的学习能力。

阅读:Temple Grandin 博士关于自闭症和视觉感知技能的评论 

http://news.cision.com/college-of-optometrists-in-vision-development/r/a-missing-piece-to-the-autism-puzzle–college-of-optometrists-in-vision-development-shares-the-visua,c9567587

Read: 眼睛是治疗自闭症儿童的关键

https://www.newindianexpress.com/cities/bengaluru/2017/apr/02/eyes-hold-key-in-therapy-of-autistic-kids-1588936.html

阅读:​了解自闭症谱系障碍 (ASD) 患者的视觉症状 

http://c.ymcdn.com/sites/www.covd.org/resource/resmgr/ovd40-3/article_understandingvisuals.pdf

Read: 不是自闭症或多动症。 有时只是看到双重

https://www.nytimes.com/2007/09/11/health/11visi.html?_r=2&ex=1190260800&en=2&oref=login&referer=http%253A%252F%252Fm.facebook.com

神经验光疗法

验光视觉治疗

不要与其他形式的眼保健操混淆,验光治疗的目标 不是加强眼部肌肉。相反,视觉治疗旨在通过 神经可塑性 . 

不应将验光视力治疗与任何已经或已经向公众销售的自我指导的眼保健计划相混淆。 在验光师监督下的办公室内视力治疗得到持续循证的支持< span style="font-weight: 400;">科学研究 (https://covd.site-ym.com/?page=research)。 

因为 视觉技能,例如跟踪文本行、协调眼睛和聚焦近距离物体 必须在 开发期间学习,这些技能也可以在以后任何年龄的生活中得到提高。

估计有十分之一的儿童有视力问题严重到足以影响他们在学校的学习 但一般标准的学校视力筛查可能会漏掉多达一半的这些问题。与发育验光师一起进行的全面视力检查会检查眼睛健康、视力和视觉技能的各个方面,并可以确保您或您的孩子不会因未确诊的视力问题而不必要地挣扎。

​在 Vision and Perception Practice,我们提供最新的设备和技能来评估孩子的眼动追踪是否符合规范、视觉感知技能、视觉信息处理技能等全面了解他们的学习能力。

https://youtu.be/XCCtphdXhq8

Susan R. Barry 是 Mount Holyoke College 的神经生物学教授

被神经学家 Oliver Sacks 称为“Stereo Sue”纽约客文章 span> (https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2006/06/19/stereo-sue)用这个名字,Sue Barry 继续写她自己的书修复我的凝视  描述了在一生只看到二维空间后获得 3D 立体视觉的惊人体验。强化视力治疗创造了新的神经连接,并由此形成了一种新的世界观。巴里挑战了大脑在童年关键时期为生命而设计的传统观念,他对我们的改变能力进行了深刻而富有启发性的描述。

阅读更多关于 Susan 教授的旅程,从童年时的斜视到通过手术治疗斜视,再到患有复视,最后通过验光获得良好的双眼视力(直眼)治疗。

http://www.fixingmyg aze.com/

多动症/多动症

https://youtu.be/ffAy6Hg4iOM

当视觉问题没有得到纠正时,它们可能表现为多动症行为。如果有潜在的视觉困难(如收敛不足、眼动追踪),则应予以治疗。这些问题通常是隐蔽的,孩子也不能很好地理解。

收敛不足 (CI) 与 ADHD 之间的关系

2005 年,Granet 博士研究了 266 名患有常见的近视力障碍,称为会聚不足 (CI) 的患者。该研究发现,近 10% 的 CI 受试者还被诊断为注意力缺陷多动障碍(ADD 或 ADHD)。在研究期间,Granet 博士和他的同事表示,这是在普通人群中发现的多动症百分比的三倍。 自 2005 年以来,人口中的 ADHD 估计值继续呈上升趋势。

加州大学圣地亚哥分校眼科和儿科教授 David Granet 博士说:

“每个人都熟悉多动症。和 A.D.D.,但不是眼睛问题,尤其是收敛不足。但是,如果孩子有眼睛问题,我们不想让他们接受补习阅读和教育。这应该是眼科医生协议的一部分。”

“当多动症的五个症状出现时。与 C.I. 重叠(收敛不足),”他说,“你怎么能不退后一步说,等一下?”

Granet 博士还评论说:“我们不知道会聚不足是否会使 ADHD 恶化,或者是否会聚不足被误诊为 ADHD。我们所知道的是,必须对这个主题进行更多的研究,并且诊断出患有 ADHD 的患者也应该接受收敛不足的评估并进行相应的治疗。”

ADHD 的 DSM-IV 标准:
​​​
1. 在学业、工作或其他活动中经常不注意细节或犯粗心的错误。
2. 经常难以专注于任务或游戏活动
4. 经常不听从指示,未能完成工作场所的功课、家务或职责(不是由于反对行为或不理解指示)。
6. 经常回避、不喜欢或不想做长时间耗费大量脑力的事情(如功课或家庭作业)。
8. 经常很容易分心。”

将收敛不足症状调查与 DSM-IV 的 ADHD 标准进行比较,9 种注意力不集中症状中的 5 种也可用于 CI(症状 1、2、4、6 和 8 同上)。由于症状有显着重叠,不难想象诊断混乱。

患有多动症的孩子的视觉技能也可能很差。通过提高他们的视觉技能基础,也可以提高学习能力。

​在 Vision and Perception Practice,我们提供最新的设备和技能来评估孩子的眼动追踪是否符合规范、视觉感知技能、视觉信息处理技能等,以充分了解他们的学习能力。

弱视(懒惰眼)

弱视通常被称为“懒惰眼”。当与另一只眼睛相比时,一只眼睛的视力下降。虽然不常见,但懒惰的眼睛有时可能涉及双眼。根据美国国立卫生研究院的数据,弱视是儿童视力障碍的最常见原因。弱视也是一种大脑能力障碍,双眼无法作为一个团队一起工作。

最好尽快治疗弱视,因为越早诊断和治疗,结果往往越成功。修补视力更好的眼睛曾经是唯一被证明能够治疗弱视的方法。然而,现在弱视的治疗包括视觉治疗,以帮助改善受影响眼睛的视觉能力,包括调节(聚焦)、运动、扫视、追踪(眼动追踪)和空间技能(眼手协调)。视觉治疗可能有助于减少贴片的频率,因为治疗的目标是改善眼睛协调性、立体视觉(深度知觉)和减少抑制。

​在 Vision and Perception Practice,我们提供最新的设备和技能来评估孩子的眼动追踪是否符合规范、视觉感知技能、视觉信息处理技能等,以充分了解他们的学习能力。

斜视(斜视)

斜视也被称为交叉眼。是指两只眼睛不同时看向同一个方向。虽然它通常发生在婴儿和幼儿身上,但也可能发生在成人身上。

一个人可能患有斜视的一些原因是由于遗传、相关疾病(如肿瘤)或控制眼睛的肌肉和神经问题。它也可能发生在中风或头部受伤后。

幸运的是斜视是可以治疗的。最好尽早治疗斜视,因为孩子不会长大。如果不及时治疗,它可能会导致视力损害,包括复视和视力下降或弱视(懒惰眼)。斜视是通过视觉疗法治疗的,该疗法旨在帮助肌肉作为一个团队协同工作,让双眼同时看向同一个地方。

​在 Vision and Perception Practice,我们提供最新的设备和技能来评估孩子的眼动追踪是否符合规范、视觉感知技能、视觉信息处理技能等,以充分了解他们的学习能力。

运动障碍

运动障碍会影响儿童准确有效地执行粗大和精细运动任务的能力。它也被称为发育协调障碍(DCD)。需要复杂运动或按顺序进行多次运动的不良运动计划会导致粗大和精细运动技能明显缺乏协调。这两种技能都会影响眼睛,与这种疾病相关的视力问题会严重影响孩子的学习和功能能力,因为它涉及功能性视觉和视觉处理技能。

患有运动障碍的孩子可能会出现阅读障碍的迹象,例如倒写字母或数字。他们也可能发现单词记忆、拼写和理解困难。这是因为有运动障碍的人在阅读书籍或其他文本时可能会经常遗漏单词,这使得这项任务变得困难且令人困惑,因为当遗漏更多单词时,句子就会开始变得不那么有意义。

研究表明,办公室和家庭眼保健操都可以解决功能性视力和视觉处理问题,这有助于改善眼睛和大脑之间的连接和协调。

 

​在 Vision and Perception Practice,我们提供最新的设备和技能来评估孩子的眼动追踪是否符合规范、视觉感知技能、视觉信息处理技能等,以充分了解他们的学习能力。

阅读障碍

根据国家学习障碍中心的儿科医生和家长倡导者的说法,博士。黛布拉·沃尔霍夫

重要的是要记住,正常视力不一定是正常视力的同义词…话虽如此,如果有视力问题,它可能会阻止最好的辅导和学习方法发挥作用。现在这当然并不意味着每个阅读障碍儿童都需要视力治疗,但在我看来,诸如 聚焦、跟踪等技能是阅读必不可少的基础工具。 b> 一般来说,如果您的孩子在阅读或学习阅读方面有困难,让合格的发育验光师进行视力评估以评估这些技能将是明智之举。”

除了通常的近视、远视和散光外,相当多的阅读障碍患者还有其他视觉问题。视觉感知能力差会导致字母反转、单词识别、拼写出现问题或出现收敛问题,这些问题可能会随着单词的移动而出现,最终导致阅读能力差或受损。一个孩子可能有阅读障碍和较差的视觉感知能力。

然而,当孩子在阅读和学习方面遇到困难时,重要的是首先排除与学习相关的视力问题的可能性。如果存在视力问题,治疗可能涉及眼镜、神经验光疗法或两者兼而有之。神经验光疗法治疗可能干扰学习阅读或阅读学习的视觉问题。一旦视力问题得到成功治疗,辅导和其他特殊服务会变得更加有效。

​在 Vision and Perception Practice,我们提供最新的设备和技能来评估孩子的眼动追踪是否符合规范、视觉感知技能、视觉信息处理技能等,以充分了解他们的学习能力。

收敛不足

会聚不足 (CI) 是一种常见的眼动问题,其中眼睛在阅读或近距离工作时有强烈的向外漂移的趋势。 如果眼睛漂移,通常会出现双重视力。 为避免重影,患有 CI 的孩子必须付出额外的努力才能使眼睛重新内收。这种额外的努力会导致烦人的症状,例如眼睛疲劳、视力模糊或复视、注意力不集中以及经常失去位置。 近距离阅读和工作。

与没有 CI 的儿童相比,患有 CI 的儿童在阅读时有更多的症状并且表现出更差的注意力。 研究表明,使用基于办公室的调节性辐辏视力治疗可以改善受 CI 影响的儿童的症状。

​在 Vision and Perception Practice,我们提供最新的设备和技能来评估孩子的眼动追踪是否符合规范、视觉感知技能、视觉信息处理技能等,以充分了解他们的学习能力。

google-site-verification=12xGnQrhC75vBsoEcEW2do-cfEpOUS3iUu6d5IUQ5xA Vision & Perception Practice SG Vision Therapy Archive - Vision & Perception Practice SG Vision Therapy Archive - Vision & Perception Practice SG

Struggling Learners

https://youtu.be/d-FvbUnxGKM

Beyond having a learning disability, a child who has never struggled in school before but suddenly is might be having a functional vision problem. Functional vision involves skills that are learned and developed by the child to gather and process visual information. These are necessary to perform tasks such as copying from the whiteboard, reading lines and staying focused. If problems arise and the child’s eyes are not focusing properly, a domino effect can occur whereby the attention, reading abilities, focus, grades and behaviour will also be affected.

Having perfect vision and sight will not be enough to be able to read as it is more helpful and important to diagnose the skills that are needed for reading. The three main visual skill areas that make up the functional vision are eye teaming (the eyes should work together to align and point at the same place on the viewing object), eye focusing (to allow the child to see objects clearly at different distances) and eye movement (to be able to control how and where the eye moves). Treating these often has a direct, positive impact in reducing problematic behavioural and learning problems.

​At Vision and Perception Practice, we provide the latest equipments and skills to assess a child’s eye tracking matched with norms, visual perceptual skills, visual information processing skills, and more to fully understand their learning abilities.

Autism

Visual Problems may be more prevalent in Children with Autism

Studies have found that refractive errors, such as near-sightedness, far-sightedness, and/or astigmatism, may be more common in those with autism. These conditions require a simple pair of glasses to improve vision, some other conditions such as strabismus (often called cross-eye or squint), amblyopia (lazy eye), convergence and accomodation (focusing) problems will require earlier Neuro-Optometric intervention to allow child to have good vision as early as possible to allow other professionals to assist the child’s development. 

Children with Autism can have poor visual skills such as

  • poor visual attention
  • inability to follow things with their eyes (or “tracking”).
  • blur near vision
  • missing cues that come from peripheral vision.
  • double vision due to poor eye teaming
  • eyes drifting out at times


In addition, some children with Autism have a visual-sensory problem which can lead to

  • poor balance
  • frequent knocking into things
  • Photophobia (scared of lights)
  • Toe walking
  • Visual Overload in a place with much visual input 


Standard vision screenings at schools do not assess the learning related visual skills, as they are designed to detect the common refractive errors such as near-sightedness, far-sightedness, and astigmatism. Properly diagnosing and correcting vision problems isn’t a cure-all. However, as Dr. Temple Grandin (A renowned Advocate with Autism) states, a child who can see his world clearly has a much better chance of benefiting from other therapies.

​At Vision and Perception Practice, we provide the latest equipments and skills to assess a child’s eye tracking matched with norms, visual perceptual skills, visual information processing skills, and more to fully understand their learning abilities.

Read:  Dr. Temple Grandin’s comments on Autism and Visual Perceptual skills 

http://news.cision.com/college-of-optometrists-in-vision-development/r/a-missing-piece-to-the-autism-puzzle–college-of-optometrists-in-vision-development-shares-the-visua,c9567587

Read: Eyes hold key in therapy of autistic kids

https://www.newindianexpress.com/cities/bengaluru/2017/apr/02/eyes-hold-key-in-therapy-of-autistic-kids-1588936.html

Read: ​Understanding the Visual Symptoms of Individuals with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) 

http://c.ymcdn.com/sites/www.covd.org/resource/resmgr/ovd40-3/article_understandingvisuals.pdf

Read: Not Autistic or Hyperactive. Just Seeing Double at Times

https://www.nytimes.com/2007/09/11/health/11visi.html?_r=2&ex=1190260800&en=2&oref=login&referer=http%253A%252F%252Fm.facebook.com

Neuro-Optometric Therapy

Optometric Vision Therapy

Not to be confused with other forms of eye exercises, the goal of optometric vision therapy is not to strengthen eye muscles. Instead, vision therapy aims to retrain the learned aspects of vision through neuroplasticity. 

Optometric vision therapy should not be confused with any self-directed program of eye exercises which is or has been marketed to the public. In-office vision therapy under the supervision of an optometrist is supported by ongoing evidence-based scientific research (https://covd.site-ym.com/?page=research). 

Because visual skills such as tracking lines of text, coordinating the eyes, and focusing on close objects must be learned during development, these skills can also be improved later in life at any age.

It is estimated that 1 in 10 children have a vision problem severe enough to affect their learning in school but general standard school vision screenings can miss up to half of these problems. A comprehensive vision exam with a developmental optometrist checks all aspects of eye health, vision, and visual skills, and can ensure you or your child is not struggling unnecessarily with an undiagnosed vision problem. 

​At Vision and Perception Practice, we provide the latest equipment and skills to assess a child’s eye tracking matched with norms, visual perceptual skills, visual information processing skills, and more to fully understand their learning abilities.

ADHD/ADD

https://youtu.be/ffAy6Hg4iOM

When visual problems are not remediated, they may manifest as ADHD behaviour. Underlying visual difficulties (such as convergence insufficiency, eye tracking) should be treated if any. These problems are usually covert and not well understood by child as well.

Relationship between Convergence Insufficiency (CI) and ADHD

In 2005, Dr. Granet studied 266 patients with a common near vision disorder called convergence insufficiency (CI). The study found that nearly 10 percent of subject with CI also had diagnoses of attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADD or ADHD). At the time of the study, Dr. Granet and his colleagues stated that this was three times the percentage of ADHD found in the general population. Estimates of ADHD in the population have continued to trend upward since 2005.

Dr. David Granet, a professor of ophthalmology and pediatrics at the University of California, San Diego, said:

“Everyone is familiar with A.D.H.D. and A.D.D., but not with eye problems, especially not with convergence insufficiency. But we don’t want to send kids for remedial reading and education efforts if they have an eye problem. This should be part of the protocol for eye doctors.”

“When five of the symptoms of A.D.H.D. overlap with C.I. (convergence insufficiency),” he said, “how can you not step back and say, Wait a minute?”

Dr. Granet also commented, “We don’t know if convergence insufficiency makes ADHD worse or if convergence insufficiency is misdiagnosed as ADHD. What we do know is that more research must be done on this subject and that patients diagnosed with ADHD should also be evaluated for convergence insufficiency and treated accordingly.”

DSM-IV Criteria for ADHD:

1. Often does not give close attention to details or makes careless mistakes in schoolwork, work or other activities.
2. Often has trouble keeping attention on tasks or play activities
4. Often does not follow instructions and fails to finish schoolwork, chores, or duties in the workplace (not due to oppositional behavior or failure to understand instructions).
6. Often avoids, dislikes, or doesn’t want to do things that take a lot of mental effort for a long period of time (such as schoolwork or homework).
8. Is often easily distracted.”

Comparing the Convergence Insufficiency Symptom Survey with the DSM-IV criteria for ADHD, 5 of the 9 symptoms of inattention could also be applied for CI (symptoms 1, 2, 4, 6 and 8 as above). As there is a significant overlap in symptoms, it is not hard to imagine a diagnostic confusion.

A child with ADHD can have poor visual skills too. By improving their foundation in visual skills,  Learning can also be improved.

​At Vision and Perception Practice, we provide the latest equipment and skills to assess a child’s eye tracking matched with norms, visual perceptual skills, visual information processing skills, and more to fully understand their learning abilities.

Amblyopia (Lazy Eye)

Amblyopia is commonly referred to and known as “lazy eye”. It is when there is a reduction of vision in one eye when compared to the other. Although uncommon, lazy eye may sometimes involve both eyes. According to the National Institute of Health, amblyopia is the most common cause of visual impairment among children. Amblyopia is also a disorder of the brain’s ability where both eyes are unable to work together as a team.

It is best to treat amblyopia as soon as possible as the earlier it is diagnosed and treated, the more successful the outcomes tend to be. Patching the better seeing eye used to be the only proven method to be able to treat amblyopia. However, now the treatment of amblyopia includes vision therapy to help improve the visual abilities of the affected eye including accommodation (focusing), fication, saccades, pursuits (eye tracking) and spatial skills (eye-hand  coordination). Vision therapy may help to reduce the frequency of patching as the goal of therapy is to improve the eye coordination, stereopsis (depth perception) and reduce suppression.

​At Vision and Perception Practice, we provide the latest equipments and skills to assess a child’s eye tracking matched with norms, visual perceptual skills, visual information processing skills, and more to fully understand their learning abilities.

Strabismus (Squint)

Strabismus / Squint is also known as crossed eyes. It is when both eyes do not look in the same direction at the same time. Although it usually happens in infants and young children, it can happen in adults as well.

Some reasons why a person may have strabismus is due to genetics, associated disease such as tumour or problems with their muscles and nerves that control the eye. It may also happen after a stroke or head injury.

Fortunately strabismus can be treated. It is better to treat strabismus earlier as children will not outgrow it. If left untreated, it can lead to vision damage including double and reduced vision or amblyopia (lazy eye). Strabismus is treated through vision therapy which is supposed to help the muscles work together as a team to allow both eyes to look in the same place at the same time.

​At Vision and Perception Practice, we provide the latest equipment and skills to assess a child’s eye tracking matched with norms, visual perceptual skills, visual information processing skills, and more to fully understand their learning abilities.

The most prominent case who used Vision Therapy to fix her squint is Susan R. Barry. Susan R. Barry is a professor of neurobiology at Mount Holyoke College. She was born nearly stereoblind and suffered from double vision after attempting to correct her squint with surgeries. Much later in her life, she embarked on intensive vision therapy.

Susan acquired stereovision in 2012 at the age of 67.

Her astonishing success has resulted in much media attention for it challenged the conventional wisdom of missed opportunity for neural change beyond the perceived ‘critical period’ during childhood. She was dubbed as ‘Stereo Sue’ in an acclaimed New Yorker article written by neurologist Oliver Sacks.

Susan Barry has gone on to write her own book that is entitled ‘Fixing My Gaze’. The book describes Susan’s astonishing experience of gaining 3D stereovision after a lifetime of seeing in only two dimensions. Barry offers a poignant and revelatory account of neuroplasticity and change regardless of age. Intensive vision therapy created new neural connections, and with them, a new view of the world.

Read more about Susan’s journey in attaining stereovision.

http://www.fixingmygaze.com/
https://youtu.be/XCCtphdXhq8
https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2006/06/19/s00tereo-sue

Dyspraxia

Dyspraxia affects a child’s ability to be able to accurately and efficiently perform gross and fine motor tasks. It is also known as Developmental Coordination Disorder (DCD). Poor motor planning that require complicated movement or multiple movements in sequence can result in a noticeable lack of coordination of both the gross and fine motor skills. Both skills impacts the eye and vision issues associated with this disorder can affect the child’s ability to learn and function severely as it involves  functional vision and visual processing skills.

A child with dyspraxia may show signs of dyslexia such as writing letters or number in reverse. They may also find word memory, spelling and comprehension difficult. This is because people with  dyspraxia may regularly miss words while reading books or other texts making it a difficult and confusing task as when more words are missed, the sentences would start to make less sense.

Research has shown that in-office and at-home eye exercises both address the functional vision and vision processing problems which can help by improving the connection and coordination between the eyes and the brain.

 

​At Vision and Perception Practice, we provide the latest equipments and skills to assess a child’s eye tracking matched with norms, visual perceptual skills, visual information processing skills, and more to fully understand their learning abilities.

Dyslexia

According to pediatrician and parent advocate for the National Center for Learning DisabilitiesDr. Debra Walhof :

It is important to remember that normal sight may not necessarily be synonymous with normal vision…That being said, if there is a vision problem, it could be preventing the best tutoring and learning methods from working. Now that certainly doesn’t mean every dyslexic child needs vision therapy, however in my opinion, skills such as focusing, tracking and others are essential foundational tools for reading. In general, if your child has trouble with reading or learning to read, getting a vision evaluation to assess these skills from a qualified Developmental Optometrist would be a smart move.”

A significant number of individuals with dyslexia have other visual problems besides the usual myopia, hyperopia and astigmatism. Poor visual perceptual skills causes problems with letters reversals, word recognition, spelling or cases of convergence problems which may show as the words moving, ultimately leads to poor or impaired reading abilities. A child can have both dyslexia and poor visual perceptual skills.

Nevertheless, when a child struggles with reading and learning, it is important to first rule out the possibility of a learning related vision problem. If a vision problem exists, treatment may involve glasses, Neuro-Optometric therapy, or both. Neuro-Optometric therapy treats visual problems that can interfere with learning to read, or reading to learn. Once the vision problem is treated successfully, tutoring and other special services can become more effective.

​At Vision and Perception Practice, we provide the latest equipment and skills to assess a child’s eye tracking matched with norms, visual perceptual skills, visual information processing skills, and more to fully understand their learning abilities.

Convergence Insufficiency

Convergence insufficiency (CI) is a common eye-teaming problem in which the eyes have a strong tendency to drift outward when reading or doing work close up. Double vision often occurs if an eye drifts out. To avoid seeing double, a child with CI must use extra effort to make the eyes turn back in. This extra effort can lead to annoying symptoms, such as eye strain, blurred or double vision, loss of concentration, and frequent loss of place when reading and working up close.

Children with CI have more symptoms and show worse attention when reading than children without CI. Research has shown that treatment using office-based accommodative-vergence vision therapy improves symptoms in children affected with CI.

​At Vision and Perception Practice, we provide the latest equipments and skills to assess a child’s eye tracking matched with norms, visual perceptual skills, visual information processing skills, and more to fully understand their learning abilities.